September 28, 2016

I opened the Internet a few minures after waking up and surfed to my favorite news website. The main headline announced that Shimon Peres had passed away during the night, at the age of 93. “The Prime Ministers Stood a Moment of Silence: ‘Fulfilled His Purpose'” – reads the headline I attached to this post.

I looked through the WordPress Reader, what things have been published under the “Israel” tag, and the entire Reader is full of Shimon Peres. “The Funeral of Shimon Peres to Be Held on Friday”, “‘Todah rabah, Shimon’: Obama offers passionate farewell to Peres – Arutz Sheva”, “Shimon Peres: Israel’s last founding father who sought peace with the Arab world” and it goes on and on… Then I opened my Facebook. Much less photos of everyday life and much more photos of Shimon Peres. Everyone is mourning. My brother posted a photo with a quote that Peres said: “Optimists and pessimists die the exact same death, but they live very different lives!”

I haven’t seen such mourning in the nation since… ever. When Yitzhak Rabin was murdered I was just a baby, so I have to idea what was the atmosphere then, but now I feel much mourning and a lot of respect towards Peres. We loved Peres. I don’t remember hearing anyone say something really bad about him, and in Israel we have a lot of politicians that aren’t appreciated. I think almost everyone appreciated Peres.

Why did I like Peres? Because he was never above us, because he smiled, because he wasn’t afraid to laugh about himself and he knew what he was aiming for. He believed in peace, he wanted our best, he was so old, but seemed so young, always on his feet, always looking for the next challenge, always involved in what’s going on… Peres was my President and he always made me smile! And smiling is the most important thing in life.

Thank you Shimon Peres, for making us smile!

יהי זכרו ברוך

